3 From Odisha In Indian Hockey Team For Sultan Azlan Shah Cup, Odisha CM Congratulates Players

07 March 2019


New Delhi: Hockey India on Wednesday named the 18-member Indian Men’s Hockey Team who will take part in the 28th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2019 to begin in Ipoh, Malaysia on 23 March 2019 and three players from Odisha have made it in the list. The prestigious annual tournament will see hosts Malaysia, Canada, Korea, South Africa, India and 18th Asian Games Champions Japan in the fray.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik tweeted, "Congratulate players from Odisha, Birendra Lakra, Amit Rohidas & Shilanand Lakra for making it to the 18 member @TheHockeyIndia squad for 28th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2019 from 23rd March 2019 in Malaysia. Their participation will surely fortify the team. Best wishes to the team."

The Indian team who begin their campaign against Japan on 23 March 2019 will miss the services of experienced forwards SV Sunil, Akashdeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Lalit Upadhyay, and defenders Rupinder Pal Singh, Harmanpreet Singh as well as midfielder Chinglensana Singh who were unavailable for selection due to injury. Junior players Vishal Antil and Pardeep Singh too were not available for selection of the Indian team for the 28th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2019 owing to injury. These players will continue to undergo rehabilitation at the Sports Authority of India, Bengaluru.

The Indian Team will leave for Ipoh, Malaysia from Kempegowda International Airport, Bengaluru on 18 March 2019.

Indian Men’s Hockey Team:

Goalkeepers: Krishan B Pathak and P R Sreejesh

Defenders: Gurinder Singh; Surender Kumar (Vice Captain), Varun Kumar, Birendra Lakra, Amit Rohidas, Kothajit Singh Khadangbam

Midfielders: Hardik Singh, Nilakanta Sharma, Sumit, Vivek Sagar Prasad and Manpreet Singh (Captain)

Forwards: Mandeep Singh, Simranjeet Singh, Gurjant Singh, Shilanand Lakra and Sumit Kumar

(Inputs From Hockey India)