Khelo India Youth Games 2019: Odisha Registers Second Win, Beats Maharashtra 7-0

08 January 2019


Mumbai: Action in the 2nd Khelo India Youth Games 2019 continued here at the Mumbai Hockey Association Stadium on Tuesday with Odisha and Uttar Pradesh registering victories in their respective second Pool A matches of the Under-17 Men's Hockey competition, while Haryana, Odisha and Punjab were also victorious in the Under-21 Men's category.

In the Under-17 Men's category, it was Odisha who registered their second win in two matches as they defeated hosts Maharashtra 7-0 in their Pool A encounter. The match saw Odisha's Sudeep Chirmako score four goals which were scored in the 5th, 38th, 50th and 53rd minute, while Sunil Jojo (14'), captain Sunit Lakra (19') and Prasant Lakra (52') also chipped in with a goal each.

The other Pool A match of the day saw Uttar Pradesh register their first win of the competition as they defeated Delhi 6-0 to overcome the opening day 1-3 defeat to Odisha. Goals for Uttar Pradesh were scored by Ajay Yadav (50', 56'), Pankaj Yadav (9'), Suraj Singh (29'), skipper Saurabh Anand (36') and Rajan Gupta (60').

In the Under-21 Men's category, Haryana opened their campaign with an emphatic 10-0 victory over Jharkhand in the Pool B match. Goals for Haryana were scored by skipper Mandeep Mor (3', 13', 40'), Abhishek (24', 43'), Mohit (31', 44'), Jasbir Antil (7'), Deepak (36') and Pankaj (58').

In the other Pool B match of the day, it was Odisha who matched their Under-17 team's feat as they also defeated hosts Maharashtra by a margin of 6-3. Indian International Nilam Sanjeep Xess (18', 29', 49') scored a hat-trick for Odisha as Amit Chirmako (12'), Krishna Tirkey (38') and Ashis Topno (43') also contributed with goals. Goals for Maharashtra were scored by Rohan Patil (25'), Malhari Chavan (52') and Harish Shindgi (57').

In Pool A, it was Punjab who continued their form as they won their second consecutive match by defeating Uttar Pradesh 1-0 in what turned out to be a hard fought win. The only goal of the game came in the 57th minute as Punjab's Harmanjit Singh converted a Penalty Corner to give his team all the three points.