Locals detain 4 trucks engaged in illegal transportation of cattle
An earthquake of magnitude 8.2 on the Ritcher scale strikes Fiji
Sadar police foils dacoity bid, 9 robbers nabbed in Koraput
Asian Games: Shooters Apurvi, Ravi bag bronze
2 killed,1 critical motorcycle plunges into roadside pond in Dhenkanal

BJD-Backed NDA’s Harivansh Singh Elected Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairperson

09 August 2018


New Delhi: The ruling BJP stole the march on Opposition parties by getting its nominee elected to the post of Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman though not having a majority of its own.

The NDA candidate, Harivansh Narayan Singh of the JD(U) bagged 125 votes in the Upper House while the Congress candidate B K Hariprasad had just 105 votes. The Upper House currently has 245 members and a candidate needs 123 votes to win.

With the BJP having 73 members of its own and Congress with 50, BJD’s Naveen Patnaik extended support of his 9 MPs to the NDA candidate.

Following his election, he was conducted to his seat, which is beside the Leader of Opposition, by Leader of House Arun Jaitley, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananath Kumar and Leader of Opposition Ghulam Nabi Azad.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Harivansh Narayan Singh, the joint ruling NDA candidate, on being elected the deputy chairperson of the Rajya Sabha.

"I congratulate Harivanshji on being elected the Deputy Chairperson of the Rajya Sabha," Modi said in the upper House, describing the journalist-MP as a "well read" person who "has written a lot".

"He has served society for years," Modi said.

"I also want to congratulate B.K. Hariprasad (opposition candidate) for being a part of the election," he added.