Locals detain 4 trucks engaged in illegal transportation of cattle
An earthquake of magnitude 8.2 on the Ritcher scale strikes Fiji
Sadar police foils dacoity bid, 9 robbers nabbed in Koraput
Asian Games: Shooters Apurvi, Ravi bag bronze
2 killed,1 critical motorcycle plunges into roadside pond in Dhenkanal

Men’s Hockey World Cup 2018: Kalinga Stadium Renovation To Finish By March 31

13 March 2018

Soumya Ranjan Sahoo

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Bhubaneswar: For the Men's Hockey World Cup 2018 here in the capital city, its venue Kalinga Stadium is getting a makeover ahead of the grand sporting event scheduled to be held from 28th November to 16th December.

As a separate committee has been formed to oversee the preparations, its review meeting was held here at the State Secretariat chaired by the Chief Secretary on Thursday. The meeting deliberated on the renovation activities before the global event on Tuesday.

According to reports, the renovation works will be wrapped up by March 31. About 8000 odd rooms have been booked in various hotels of Bhubaneswar, Cuttack City and Puri for the visitors to witness the gala sports for which hectic preparations are in full swing. Live streaming arrangements are being made at different districts all over the state.

By now, 16 teams have confirmed to come over for the Hockey World Cup. The tournament will kick off from November 28 and will conclude on December 16 with the last match at Kalinga Stadium. The pool-wise matches will be played between November 28 and December 9, with two matches per day starting at 5.00 pm and 7.00 pm (IST) respectively. In the first match of the opening day Belgium will face Canada while India will face South Africa in the second match of the day.

As many as 16 teams will take part in the Men’s Hockey World Cup. They have been divided into four Pools – A, B, C and D.

Argentina, New Zealand, Spain and France are grouped in Pool-A while the Pool-B consists of Australia, England, Ireland and China.

The host, India will take on Belgium, Canada and South Africa in Pool-C.

The three-time world champion team Netherlands will play against Germany, Malaysia and Pakistan in Pool-D.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Aditya Prasad Padhi, Chief Secretery, Odisha

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Vishal Dev, Secretary, Sports

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Eliana Norman, CEO, Hockey India