Cops seize huge cache of brown sugar during simultaneous raids in Balasore
Man critical after being attacked by a stray elephant in Nilagiri
Woman allegedly set ablaze by her husband in Keonjhar
Om Birla to be the next Speaker of LokSabha !
BJD to support BJP MP Om Birla for Lok Sabha Speaker post
Odisha Health Dept inks BSKY MoU with AIIMS, BBSR
One person injured in bombing during a group clash in Benapanjari
Ace Odia weight lifter Ravi Kumar appeals NADA to re-consider ban
Prayagraj court sentences 4 to life, acquits 1 in 2005 Ayodhya attack
Odisha's school summer vacation extended till June 25

Women Empowered: Naveen Patnaik’s Lok Sabha Women Candidates Excel

23 May 2019


Bhubaneswar: The 2019 Lok Sabha election trends and results in Odisha have vividly evinced that BJD supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik’s pioneering 33% women empowerment move has made a prominent mark.

Five out of his seven party MP candidates (all women) in the fray posted a comfortable victory margin even from the initial rounds of the counting of votes. On the contrary, BJD’s male MP candidates were seen encountering a tough fight with their respective rival parties BJP and Congress.

The crowning glory among the six women MP candidates is Aska MP candidate Pramila Bisoi (an old woman cum ace SHG leader).  Chandrani Murmu of Keonjhar, Dr Rajashree Mallick of Jagatsinghpur, Sarmistha Sethy of Jajpur and Manjulata Mandal of Bhadrak followed her suit. Koushalya Hikaka of Koraput also put up a tough fight against Congress' Saptagiri Ulka.

Except BJD’s Sundargarh MP candidate Sunita Biswal, rest all of the women MP candidates proved Naveen Patnaik’s judicious choice to be correct.