Bodies of woman, her married daughter recovered from their house
Cobra along with her 25 hatchlings rescued by members of Snake Helpline
Odisha Doctors Join Nationwide Day-Long Strike, OPDs Shut
Two killed in lightning strike in Badadei village
Lakhs Flock To Puri As Snana Purnima Rituals Begin, Devotees Enthralled
Minister of State (MoS) and BJP's Balasore MP Pratap Sarangi takes oath
Orissa HC Lawyers Boycott Court Till June 26
ASI Installs Jaya-Vijay Idols At Singhadwar Of Puri Srimandir
3 New Cyber Crime Police Stations To Be Set Up: Odisha DGP

Which Seat Will Naveen Patnaik Retain, Hinjli Or Bijepur?

27 May 2019

Debashish Maharana

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Bhubaneswar: It was for the first time in Naveen Patnaik's electoral career spanning over two decades, the Chief Minister of Odisha contested from two assembly seats. Bijepur and Hinjli.

While Hinli has been Naveen's pocket borough, the regional satrap decided to field himself from Bijepur to strengthen the party's command in the western Odisha. The results were at par with the predictions, as expected. Naveen secured victory in both the seats with huge margins, comfortably.

Now the question remains, which seat will the four time CM, whose fifth term's swaring-in is due on Wednesday, retain. While there is no official confirmation on this matter yet, political pundits are of the opinion that Naveen would represent Bijepur this time, giving up Hinjli.

"While the Chief Minister belongs to the entire State, his representation from a constituency in western Odisha will be a matter of pride. Whichever seat he retains, the development in both the constituencies will move on at the same pace under his direct supervision," senior BJD MLA Sushant Singh said.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Susanta Singh, Senior BJD Leader