3 suspended in connection with the death of a Class-1 student yesterday
College Student Gang-Raped By Classmates In Sundergarh
Karanjia Action Committee observes 12-hour shutdown in the town
Police arrest 6 persons in puri triple murder case

Western Odisha MLAs Fail To Meet HC Chief Justice Over Permanent Bench Demand

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

03 January 2019

Bikash Sharma

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Cuttack: The delegation of MLAs who had visited Cuttack on Thursday to meet Orissa High Court Chief Justice KS Jhaveri to press for their longstanding demand of setting up of a permanent High Court Bench in Western Odisha had to face disappointment.

Legislators from different political parties, including Sambalpur BJD MLA Raseswari Panigrahi, Jharsuguda Congress MLA Naba Das, Padampur BJP MLA Pradip Purohit, Rairakhol BJD MLA Rohit Pujari among others were part of the 7-members delegation.

Briefing mediapersons, Raseswari said, they had sought permission to meet the Chief Justice but due to some miscommunication were unable to meet him as he is busy in grievance redressal.

"As per a letter from the Union Law Minister, consent of the Chief Justice of Orissa High Court is needed for setting up High Court bench, but despite repeated communication he is not sending his views. It is our request to him to send his views," she added.

Answering media queries on the State Government providing land for establishment of the permanent bench, Raseswari said, the process will be done in accordance with principles and guidelines suggested by Justice Jaswant Singh Commission.

After failing to meet the Chief Justice, the delegation left for Bhubaneswar to meet Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik to seek his intervention over the issue.

Also Read: Final Electoral Rolls On Jan 21, Mock Poll From Jan 7: Odisha Chief Electoral Officer

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Raseswari Panigrahi, MLA, Sambalpur

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Naba Das, MLA, Jharsuguda