12 BJD MP-Elects Meet Naveen
12 BJD MP-Elects Meet Naveen

Table Tennis Nationals: Sharath & Archana Clinch Victories, Odisha CM Congratulates Winners

09 January 2019


Bhubaneswar: Veteran Sharath Kamal broke Kamlesh Mehta’s long-standing record of most national titles by winning his ninth crown following a competing final against India teammate G Sathiyan on Wednesday.

An exciting final was on the cards with world number 30 taking on 31st ranked Sathiyan. And what a final it turned out to be with Sharath securing it 4-3.

Youngster Archana Kamath lifted the women’s trophy for the first time. Her confidence had soared after beating CWG gold medallist Manika Batra in the semifinals and it was evident twice in the final when after trailing 4-7 in the third and again 6-10 in the fourth, the girl from Karnataka came back strongly to go 3-1 up.

But in the fifth, some loose shots didn’t help her as she gave away too many negatives to Krittwika Sinha Roy of West Bengal.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik congratulated Sharath and Archana for their victorious performances at the 80th National Table Tennis Championships held at the Nehru Indoor Stadium in Cuttack.

Naveen tweeted: Congratulate @sharathkamal1 and Archana Kamath on winning single titles in men and women category at 80th Senior National & Inter-State TT Championships in Cuttack. Odisha. Best wishes for future.

The Chief Minister also thanked the Table Tennis Federation of India (TTFI) for successfully organising the National and Inter-State TT Championships at Cuttack. "Odisha is delighted to host the next Commonwealth TT Championships from 17-22 July, 2019," the Chief Minister wrote in a tweet on Wednesday.