Sundargarh’s Ex-SDC Chief Kusum Tete Quits BJD

19 March 2019

Debashish Maharana

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Bhubaneswar: A day after Biju Janata Dal (BJD) supremo and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik announced the names of MP and MLA candidates, former chairperson of Sundargarh Special Development Council (SDC) Kusum Tete today tendered her resignation from the primary membership of BJD.

Yesterday’s list has been announced for the nine Lok Sabha and 54 Assembly seats in Odisha that includes the name of BJD party ticket holder for the Sundargarh Sadar Assembly Constituency.

Kusum was an aspirant for the party ticket as she had contested the 2014 election as a BJD MLA candidate from Sundargarh Sadar seat and had lost to Congress candidate Jogesh Singh.

Ironically, Jogesh Singh quit Congress this year and joined BJD. He has also been fielded as the party candidate for Sundargarh seat.

In her resignation letter addressed to the BJD president, Kusum has alleged that she had been working dedicatedly for the party, but was sidelined.

In her media reactions, she stated that she would contest the upcoming election after consulting the people of her constituency.

Notably, Kusum has recently resigned from the post of Special Development Council (SDC) after her Congress contender Jogesh Singh defected to BJD and has now been given party ticket.

Besides, BJD Kalahandi General Secretary Pramod Patnaik also resigned from the party expressing dissatisfaction over BJD fielding 'unknown and non-political person' Dibya Shankar Mishra from Junagarh assembly seat. Later, Former MLA of Paralakhemundi K Narayan Rao also quit BJD after being denied ticket by party.

Also Read: BJD Announces 9 LS & 54 Assembly Candidates, Naveen To Contest Both From Ganjam’s Hinjili & Bargarh’s Bijepur

Also Read: Congress Releases List Of Candidates For 6 LS & 36 Assembly Constituencies In Odisha

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Pratap Deb, Spokesperson, BJD

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Kusum Tete, Ex-SDC Chief, Sundargarh

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Jogesh Singh, BJD MLA Candidate, Sundargarh