Sundargarh MP Jual Oram’s “Mann Ki Baat” Sans Portfolio This Time

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Bhubaneswar: Despite having won consecutively for the second stint and that too with a huge margin, former Union Tribal Affairs Minister-cum-Sundargarh MP (BJP) Jual Oram’s statements at a felicitation function in Rourkela recently has been the talk of the town.   

Oram while addressing his supporters poured out, “I know well that some of you are feeling sad as I didn’t get a ministerial berth at the Centre this time. Do you feel sad? What for the sadness?”

Consoling his supporters he argued, “When I had become minster earlier, there had been more eligible persons to be the same minister then. I had become the minister for the second time. Then also there must have been more eligible person for the portfolio. It’s the prerogative of the Prime Minister.”

“Since I’m also a human being like you all having flesh and blood, I also felt bad for some time. I had decided to attend the swearing-in ceremony with my wife, but she refused to go as she was also feeling bad. Thus, we two stayed back at home,” Jual confessed openly.

Trying to come to the terms, he stated, “However, now I’m normal. I would like to urge you all that this is the Prime Minister’s as well as our party’s prerogative. I have already got a chance of becoming Union Minister twice.”

In his media reactions, first timer BJP MLA Lalitendu Bidyadhar Mohapatra said, “Definitely it is the prerogative of the Prime Minister. It’s obvious that one feels bad when one doesn’t become a minister despite the high hopes. This remains for a while. Later on, he will work for the party as usual.”

Notably, Jual was also conspicuous by his absence along with his Bargarh counterpart Suresh Pujari and Bhubaneswar counterpart Aparajita Sarangi on the recent occasion of felicitation ceremony arranged by the Odisha unit of BJP here at its party headquarters for all its newly elected MPs and MLAs as well as the two new Union Ministers from Odisha-Pratap Sarangi and Dharmendra Pradhan.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Jual Oram, MP (BJP), Sundargarh, Odisha

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Lalitendu Bidyadhar Mohapatra, MLA, BJP, Odisha