Rebel MLAs can't be compelled to participate in trust vote, says SC
Ganeshi Lal inaugurates 21st edition of Commonwealth TT Championship

Summon To OTV MD Jagi Mangat Panda: BJP MLA Resigns From Privilege Committee

30 January 2019

Debashish Maharana

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Bhubaneswar: BJP Legislature Party leader and Patnagarh MLA Kanak Vardhan Singh Deo resigned from the Odisha Assembly's privilege committee today in connection with the summon to Managing Director of Odisha Television Ltd Jagi Mangat Panda over a 'breach of privilege' motion.

In a letter to Assembly Speaker Pradip Kumar Amat, Deo stated, "I hereby tender my resignation from the Committee on Privileges for 2018-19 constituted by you on the issue of Privilege Motion raised by the Congress MLA from Jaipur Shri Tara Prasad Bahinipati on a news item telecast by OTV on 20th November 2018." (SIC)

Deo opined, though Bahinipati had stated that OTV had breached the privilege of the House through its authorized persons and undermined the dignity of the House through a programme telecast on its TV channel; nowhere had he mentioned that the Managing Director of the channel be summoned.

"While the Speaker has the authority to constitute a Committee, there has never been precedence of summoning owners of the media houses. At best the Editors/Reporters have been summoned. But in this case Smt. Jagi Mangat Panda, Managing Director, OTV was summoned before the Privileges Committee," added Deo.

He averred that Jagi Mangat is an established and reputed woman entrepreneur of Odisha who has been humiliated and harassed publicly. He alleged it to be an anti-woman attitude and political vendetta adding she was summoned to be harassed for political reason.

Stating the above reasons, Deo said it will be unjust on his part to be a part of the Committee which should work independently and without bias. Therefore, he tendered his resignation and prayed the Speaker to accept it with immediate effect.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Samir Mohanty, Vice-President, BJP, Odisha