Old-woman allegedly attacked & raped in sambalpur
Woman killed after being attacked by wild elephant in Dhenkanal
Youth critical after being attacked by his father-in-law in Digapahandi
youth dies after accidentally falling off a moving Express in Rayagada
Girl student found pregnant at a girls' hostel in Kandhamal

Sumitra Jena Withdraws Dharna For ‘Manhandling’ After Assurance From Odisha Congress Chief

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

01 April 2019

Debashish Maharana

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Pradesh Mahila Congress president Sumitra Jena, who was staging dharna in front of the Congress Bhawan for being allegedly manhandled by a rival group yesterday, withdrew the agitation after receiving assurance from OPCC Chief Niranjan Patnaik today.

Reportedly, Jena along with some women activists of Odisha Congress had staged a demonstration by locking the main gate of the Congress Bhawan yesterday alleging disproportion in number of tickets distributed among the male and female candidates in various parliamentary and assembly constituencies of Odisha.

However, a group of party workers from Bhadrak, allegedly led by Nalini Kanta Mohanty and Biswa Das, barged into the Congress Bhawan after which a scuffle ensued between the two groups, in which Jena was manhandled.

"The OPCC chief has assured of a detailed probe in connection with the incident and will take appropriate action against the accused. We are discontent over the ticket distribution but the damage has been done. However, for representation of women candidates in the remaining seats we will discuss with AICC's Odisha in-charge TS Singhdeo who is arriving today," said Jena.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Sumitra Jena, President, Odisha Pradesh Mahila Congress