Central Board Meeting of RBI to be held in BBSR today

Rita Sahu Takes Oath As Bijepur MLA

13 November 2019


Bhubaneswar: Odisha Assembly Speaker Surya Narayan Patro administered oath to recently elected BJD MLA Rita Sahu on Wednesday.

After the oath taking, Patro congratulated Sahu and said she is now officially a Member of the Legislative Assembly.

In her reaction, Sahu said that she will raise issues of her constituency in the House and also thanked Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.

Sahu had won the bypoll to the Bijepur Assembly constituency by defeating her nearest candidate Sanat Gartia of BJP by 97,994 votes.

A staggering 1,35,957 people had voted for Sahu, while Gartia was able to garner only 37,967 votes and Congress' Dillip Panda could only manage to score 5,873 votes.

Rita Sahu, MLA, BJD

Surya Narayan Patro, Speaker, Odisha Legislative Assembly