India sees highest spike in cases, total reaches 1,251

Rayagada DHH, Capital Hospital Bhubaneswar & Dungurupali CHC Bag Kayakalp Awards

11 October 2019


Bhubaneswar: Three State-Government run hospitals of Odisha have bagged Kayakalp Awards for the year 2018-19 at a function held at New Delhi.

Health and Family Welfare Minister Dr Harshvardhan presented the award on the occasion to Rayagada district headquarters hospital and Capital Hospital Bhubaneswar which were adjudged first and second respectively. In the Community Health Centre segment, Sonepur's Dungurupali CHC bagged the first prize.

The Kayakalp Awards are given every year in the Healthcare segment to Government-run hospitals of different States. For 2018-19, six DHH, five sub-divisional hospitals, 43 CHCs, 86 Primary Health Centres and 42 Urban PHCs were nominated for the awards from Odisha.

The awards were distributed based on the performance of the facility on these parameters- sanitation and hygiene, infection control, hospital upkeep, waste management, community participation assessment would be done sequentially through a three tier system - internal assessment followed by peer assessment and then external assessment.

Union Minister of State for Health Ashwini Kumar Choubey, Director of National Health Mission Manoj Jilani and Secretary of H&FW Ministry Priti Sudan were present on the occasion. The award was received by Dr Shaktikant Mohanty for Rayagada, Capital Hospital Director Dr Ashok Pattnaik and Dungurupali CHC's Dr Partha Pratim Panda.