Cops seize huge cache of brown sugar during simultaneous raids in Balasore
Man critical after being attacked by a stray elephant in Nilagiri
Woman allegedly set ablaze by her husband in Keonjhar
Om Birla to be the next Speaker of LokSabha !
BJD to support BJP MP Om Birla for Lok Sabha Speaker post
Odisha Health Dept inks BSKY MoU with AIIMS, BBSR
One person injured in bombing during a group clash in Benapanjari
Ace Odia weight lifter Ravi Kumar appeals NADA to re-consider ban
Prayagraj court sentences 4 to life, acquits 1 in 2005 Ayodhya attack
Odisha's school summer vacation extended till June 25

Ravenshaw University Gets New VC

23 December 2017


Cuttack: Odisha’s historic and premier Ravenshaw University has got a new Vice Chancellor as Odisha Governor and Chancellor Dr S.C. Jamir appointed Prof Ishan Kumar Patro to head the glorious temple of wisdom and learning.

Prof Patro will succeed Prof Prakash Chandra Sarangi who had been appointed VC of Ravenshaw University in December 2014.

Prof Patro is the incumbent professor in School of Studies in Neuroscience/Zoology of Jiwaji University, Gwalior in Madhya Pradesh.

While the new VC appointed has 29 years of teaching experience, he has also an administrative experience of 17 years as Head of the Department (HOD).

He has also to his credit 66 numbers of research papers publications in reputed national and international journals.

Besides, 25 scholars have been awarded Ph. D degree under his tutelage.

Being a science graduate of Bhubaneswar-based BJB College with Zoology Honours, he has done M.Sc., M.Phil and Ph.D at Kurukshetra University in Haryana.

Notably, Ravenshaw University is a co-educational state university situated in the millennium city Cuttack, old capital city of Odisha. Founded as Ravenshaw College in 1868, the institution became a university in 2006. The university has nine schools, thirty three academic departments and a student enrolment of nearly 8,000. It is one of the oldest educational institutes in the country and its history is synonymous with the history of modern Odisha.