Pragyan Ojha announces retirement from all formats of the game

Railway Safety Commissioner Initiates Inquiry Into LTT Express Accident

18 January 2020

Bikash Sharma

Cuttack: A four-member team led by Commissioner of Railway Safety, AK Ray initiated an inquiry into Mumbai-Bhubaneswar Lokmanya Tilak Terminus (LTT) Express accident, today.

The team inspected the field yesterday and will have the investigation in three phases. Statements of officials involved will be recorded, said Ray. He said, “We will look into all possible angles such as speed, security measures, and visibility conditions on the day of the accident.”

When asked whether fog was the main culprit behind the accident he said that since the matter is under investigation, nothing can be stated clearly as of now.

Ray added, “Based on prima facie evidence, East Coast Railways has suspended four Railway officials. Preliminary report will be submitted after a month and then any action will be taken.” He said that the lessons learnt from the accident report will be used to make sure such accidents do not happen in future.

Reiterating Railway Commissioner, Chief Safety Officer Sudhansu Sekhar Mishra said, “An unbiased inquiry will be conducted and all angles will be investigated. Also, we request all members of the society to come forward if they have any viable information in relation to the accident.

Denying charges of delayed attention to patients, he said that several Railway officials with State Government officials reached on accident site on time and made sure that all injured got timely treatment. Even the patients have voiced the same.

The LTT Express had hit a stationary goods train between Salagaon and Nergundi railway station of Cuttack On January 16. 21 people, two are minors and a female senior citizen, were immediately shifted to SCB Medical College and Hospital, Cuttack. People with minor injuries were treated in a local hospital. Rest of the passengers were taken in buses to Cuttack and Bhubaneswar.

AK Ray, Commissioner of Railway Safety

Sudhansu Sekhar Mishra, Chief Safety Officer, ECoR