Prominent Contestants File Nominations In Bhubaneswar On Thursday

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

04 April 2019

Baibhav Mishra

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Bhubaneswar: Even as a number of contestants from the State Capital filed their nominations for the upcoming general on Thursday, prominent among them were AparajitaSarangi, Arup Patnaik, Ananta Narayan Jena and ItishPradhan.

BJP's new entarntSarangi, has already emerged as the saffron party's firebrand face. Soon after joining politics, the former bureaucrat has been traversing the length and breadth of Khurda district to connect with the electorate.

"All are very excited in my constituency. There is a lot of enthusiasm among men and women. Traders are downing shutters, housewives in large numbers and public in general are joining my campaign. They want a change. Our joint ambition is to transform Bhubananeswar into the best performing Parlimanetary constituency in the country," Sarangi said.

Aparajita's contender and former Mumbai police commissioner Arup Patnaik also showed up at the Khurda Collector's office for filing nominations. Patnaik was backed by an army of supporters from the BijuJanata Dal and the public in general.

While Patnaik had a separate fan following as a top cop, he has amassed significant popularity among youths in Odisha. Some of the successful campaigns and activities of the BijuYuvaVahini have been accredited to Patnaik planning and authority.

"Winning and losing elections is in the hand of the voters. They will decide the fate of the candidates. Till the results are declared it would be naive on my part to predict the results, it would demean the supremacy of the electorate in democracy," quippedPatnaik when asked about his performance in the election.

Serving as the Mayor of Bhubaneswar for a decade, Ananta Narayan Jena has become a household name in the State Capital. While his candidature was hanging in balance till the last, factors like 'metamorphosis' of the Capital City, worked wonders for Jena. The popular leader managed to secured Bhubaneswar-Central ticket.

Jena filed nomination at Bhubaneswar ADM's office today. Rightly so, he gave all credits for his selection to BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik. "The Chief Minister was at the helm of the affairs. It was because of his vision and authority we could earn the Smart-City tag for Bhubaneswar."

"I have always been with the people of Bhubaneswar. There are a lot of unfulfilled dreams. If elected, I will work together with my people to make Bhubaneswar the number one city in the World," he said.

Student leader ItishPradhan who bagged Congress ticket from Bhubaneswar-North constituency was accompanied by a large number of supporters while filing nominations.

Pradhan has been a popular face among student and youth cadre. After senior Congress leader LalatenduBidydharMahapatra's demise, there was a voice of dissent against him, but Pradhan manage to diffuse the tension, and emerged as a promising candidate for elections.

His efforts finally paid off in 2019. "I will work for the people of Bhubaneswar as their son, not as a politician. There are many issues which need urgent redressal. I will dedicate myself to the constituency and seek the blessings of you all," said Pradhan.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Arup Patnaik, BJD Candidate, Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha Constituency

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Aparajita Sarangi, BJP Candidate, Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha Constituency

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Ananta Narayan Jena, BJD MLA Candidate, Bhubaneswar Central

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Itish Pradhan, Congress MLA Candidate, Bhubaneswar North