Pre-Poll Violence: 8 Arrested For Attack On OPCC President Niranjan Patnaik

22 April 2019


Bhubaneswar:The Ramchandrapur police have arrested 8 persons for their alleged role in the attack on Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) President Niranjan Patnaik convoy at Bhandaripoda Chaak under Ghasipura Assembly constituency on Sunday.

Apart from Patnaik, five Congress workers were also injured in the attack. Three of them have been shifted to SCB Medical College and Hospital in Cuttack.

The Congress President is contesting the polls from this seat. Patnaik had filed a police complaint at Ramchandrapur police station over the incident. On the other hand, BJD candidate for Ghasipura Badri Narayan Patra has also written to the CEO demanding action against goons.

Keonjhar will go to the polls in the third phase, on April 23.