Phase-III Polls: Odisha Records 47% Polling Till 3 PM, Bhubaneswar Turnout Lowest

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

23 April 2019


Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Bhubaneswar: Office of Chief Electoral Officer informed that Odisha had recorded 47% voter turnout till 3 pm in the afternoon today during the third phase polls.

Reports stated that the polling percentages are as follows: Bhubaneswar- 35%, Puri- 48%, Cuttack- 44%, Dhenkanal- 44%, Keonjhar- 42% and Sambalpur- 40%. In wake of this, CEO Surendra Kumar urged people to come out and vote after he himself exercised his franchise.

Till 1 pm, Odisha had recorded 34% voter turnout and the polling percentages were as follows: Bhubaneswar- 20%, Puri- 33%, Cuttack- 33%, Dhenkanal- 33%, Keonjhar- 35% and Sambalpur- 30%.

Voting is underway at 10,464 polling stations. 92,56,922 voters will exercise their franchise. Out them, 47,99,030 are male voters, 44,56,729 female voters, 1,163 third gender voters. Meanwhile, 59,500 polling officers have been deployed to carry out free and fair elections. 

Voting began at 7 am today across 6 Lok Sabha and 42 Assembly seats in Odisha. Like always, there were misconnections and connection errors in some machines. But, the section officers replaced the machines and currently polling is going on smoothly everywhere.


Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Surendra Kumar, CEO, Odisha