locals block NH-26 after a couple killed in road mishap in Kalahandi
Lady bank official found dead in Bhubaneswar
Four Killed, Three Injured In Separate Road Mishaps In Odisha
Online Ticket Sale For Dec 22 India-West Indies ODI At Barabati Begins

Odisha’s Tarava Police Station Adjudged Best 10 In India

07 August 2019

Debashish Maharana

Bhubaneswar: As Tarava Police Station (PS) in Odisha’s Subarnapur district has been adjudged as one of the 10 best Police Stations in the country in the Annual Ranking of Police Stations for the year 2018, DGP R.P. Sharma today handed over the certificate and memento to Subarnapur SP Debi Prasad Dash and Tarava PS IIC Dulamani Bhoi in a simple function at State Police Headquarters in Cuttack city.

The certificate has been issued by Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA), Government of India.

As per a press note released by the Odisha Police State Headquarters, “Earlier in the DGPs/IGPs Conference – 2016, it was decided to award 10 best performing Police Stations of the country on the basis of their performance on various angles. Bureau of Police Research and Development (BPR & D) had suggested a Performance Management system for grading the Police Stations. Tarava Police Station got the award on the basis of this performance measurement system as it fulfilled all the criteria of measurement.”

The press note also mentioned that Quality Council of India (QCI) was entrusted to carry out the survey for grading the Police Stations across the country. The criteria for measuring the best police stations include smart policing, use of technology in delivery of services, citizen centric policing, public relations and community policing, people friendly policing, women and child friendly policing, better grievance redressal mechanism, etc.

“A team from Quality Council of India visited Tarava earlier and they interacted with the people in various cross sections to finalise the best police station. They took input from general public, women, people in SC, ST and minority community, etc in this regard for taking a final decision in the matter,” claimed the press note.

Prominent among others, CID, CB ADGP Santosh Upadhyay, ADGP (Modernisation) V.T. Mishra, ADGP (Law & Order) Sanjeeb Panda, IGP (Personnel) P.S. Ranpise, IGP (Hdqrs) Asheet Panigrahi, DIGP (Hdqrs)  Shefeen Ahamed K., SP (Crime) Sandeep Madkar and AIGP (Hdqrs)  Vivekananda Sharma were present in this award giving programme.