Man allegedly kills son & buries body in his backyard in Athagarh
Railways increases advance reservation period for special trains to120 days

Odisha RS Bye-Polls: BJD’s Amar Patnaik & Sasmit Patra, BJP’s Ashiwni Baishnab Elected Unopposed

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

28 June 2019


Bhubaneswar: Ruling Biju Janata Dal's Rajya Sabha candidates Amar Patnaik and Sasmit Patra as well as BJD-backed BJP candidate Ashwini Baishnab were elected to the Upper House on Friday unopposed after scrutiny of nomination papers.

Since there were no other contenders found by the Returning Officer (RO), he announced them elected uncontested.

The Rajya Sabha bye-polls were necessitated following the vacant posts of three Rajya Sabha seats from Odisha quota due to the elections of three former BJD Rajya Sabha members as MP (Achyuta Samant) to Lok Sabha and as MLAs (Soumya Ranjan Patnaik and Pratap Keshari Deb) to the Odisha Assembly in the recently concluded general elections.