Odisha: Know How EVMs & VVPATs Are Stored Safely

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

24 April 2019

Snigdha Chandan Das

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Bhubaneswar: After completion of third phase polls in six Lok Sabha and 42 Assembly constituencies, the EVMs and VVPAT devices were sealed and kept safely in a strong room inside counting centres on Wednesday.

After completion of polling on Tuesday, all the EVMs and VVPAT devices from the polling stations in Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha constituency were kept at BJB College and EVM godown at Khurda.

At the EVM godown in Khurda the EVMs and VVPATs from Begunia, Khurda and Chilika Assembly constituencies have been kept securely, Khurda Collector, Nirmal Chandra Mishra said.

Similarly, at the BJB College in the Capital City, the EVMs and VVPAT devices from Jatni, Jaydev, Bhubaneswar-Ekamra, Bhubaneswar-Central and North-Bhubaneswar constituencies have been stored.

"The strong rooms have been completely sealed are under under 24-hour surveilance with CCTV cameras mounted at all corners and the corridors. An LCD screen fitted outisde will show the live feed from the strong rooms/counting centres for the public," Mishra added.

The strong room keys are secure with the District Trasury Officer and guarded by the Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF).

Police Commissioner Satyajit Mohanty said, the guidelines of the Election Commission of India have been adhered to for securing the strong rooms or counting centres.

"Teams from the State Police have been designated as Periphery Guard and deployed outside the strong rooms. Border Security Force personnel have been deployed as the 'Strong Room Guards' in Bhubaneswar UPD. Additional units have been deployed in Bhubaneswar UPD as the Building Guards," Mohanty added.

Every centre is under the vigilance of a 'Supervisory Officer' and constantly monitored through the CCTV cameras. Only authorised persons and the candidates with proper authorisation can visit the centres on need basis, the Police Commissioner added.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Nirmal Chandra Mishra, Collector and DM, Khurda

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Satyajit Mohanty, Police Commissioner, Bhubaneswar-Cuttack