Odisha: Justice Pramath Patnaik Sworn In As Orissa HC Judge

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

08 February 2019

Bikash Sharma

Cuttack: In a re-transfer from Jharkhand to Odisha, Justice Pramath Patnaik was sworn in as the Judge of Orissa High Court today morning as the oath was administered by HC Chief Justice KS Jhaveri here.

The ceremony took place this morning in the new conference hall. After obtaining permission from Chief Justice, Additional Chief Secretary read the authorization letter and the order of transfer. Following that, Chief Justice administered the oath and Justice Pramath Patnaik read and signed the oath form.

On January 12, the Collegium of Supreme Court of India, comprising Chief Justice of India (CJI) Justice Ranjan Gogoi, Justice A.K. Sikri, Justice S.A. Bobde, Justice N.V. Ramana and Justice Arun Mishra had recommended Justice Pramath Patnaik, Judge, Jharkhand High Court for re-transfer to Orissa High Court.

As per the letter of the Collegium, “Mr Justice Pramath Patnaik, hails from Orissa High Court and, on transfer, has been serving since 22nd December, 2014 in Jharkhand High Court. Vide representation dated 19th November 2018, the learned Judge, for the reasons mentioned therein, has requested for re-transfer to Orissa High Court.”

“The Collegium, acceding to his request, resolves to recommend that Mr Justice Pramath Patnaik, Judge, Jharkhand High Court, be re-transferred, in the interest of better administration of justice, to Orissa High Court,” the letter further mentioned.

Also Read: TDP MLA Murder Case: Mastermind Maoist Militia Leader Arrested In Odisha