Odisha Govt Reserves 10% Medical College Seats For EWS Students, Issues Notification

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Government has today issued notification for implementation of 10% Economically Weaker Sections (EWS) reservation quota for the academic session 2019-20 for admission into Medical Education Institutions under Constitution Amendment (One Hundred and Third Amendment) Act, 2019 dated 12.01.2019.

This has been done as the Government of India, Ministry of Health & Family Welfare have increased the seats of three medical college and hospitals.

The three institutions are Pt Raghunath Murmu Medical College and Hospital at Baripada in Mayurbhanj district, Saheed Laxman Nayak Medical College and Hospital, Koraput and Veer Surendra Sai Institute of Medical sciences and Research (VIMSAR), Burla in Sambalpur district.

While the existing seats of Pt Raghunath Murmu Medical College and Hospital were 100, it has been increased to 125. Similarly, the existing 100 seats of Saheed Laxman Nayak Medical College and Hospital have been increased to 125 while the existing 150 seats of VIMSAR have been increased to 200.

As per the Odisha Health & Family Welfare (H&FW) Department’s Notification dated 25.06.2019 by Order of Governor, “Government of Odisha have been pleased to reserve 10 percent seats for Economically Weaker Sections (EWS) for taking admission in the above three Medical Institutions which shall be over and above the existing reservations.”

“The extent of reservation for EWS shall be in such a manner that the number of seats made available to the Economically Weaker Sections (EWS) shall not reduce the number and percentage of reservation provided for the categories as mentioned in the Department letter no 2243 dtd 22.01.2003,” the H&FW Department’s Notification underlines and highlights, “This notification shall come into effect with immediate effect.