Woman burns to death after a fire breaks out in Bhadrak
House adjourned till 11:30 AM after BJP MLAs create ruckus
State Cabinet approves five proposals
Nirbhaya rapists to be hanged at 6 a.m. on March 3

BK Sharma Given Additional Charge Of DGP Odisha

07 August 2019


Bhubaneswar: The State Government today appointed senior Odisha cadre IPS officer and incumbent DG Fire Services and Home Guards, Bijay Kumar Sharma, as the Director General of Police (DGP) of Odisha in additional charge following the appointment of incumbent DGP Dr R.P. Sharma as the Member, Lokayukta.

B.K. Sharma, a 1986-batch Odisha-cadre IPS officer is currently serving as the DG, Fire Service, Commandant General (Home Guards) and Director of Civil Defence.

Sharma was the longest serving Police Commissioner of the Twin City. He was the Special DG of Odisha Crime Branch. Earlier this year, BK Sharma served as the DGP- in-Charge during General Elections when Dr RP Sharma went on a leave following the sad demise of his wife.

As per an order issued by the Home Department, Sharma will be taking over charge from Dr R.P. Sharma soon after the latter moves to the Lokayukta. "Bijay Kumar Sharma will remain in full additional charge of DGP Odisha and Head of police force," the notification stated.

The appointment of next full time DGP is under process as per the Supreme Court guidelines.

The State Government has recommended the names of eight senior Odisha cadre IPS officers of 1986, 1987 and 1988 batches to the UPSC in accordance with the new Supreme Court guidelines. on DGP appointment by a State. 

Earlier OMMCOM NEWS was misinformed about Sunil Roy being the new DGP in-charge. We highly regret the inadvertently committed mistake.