Actor Sunny Deol reaches Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) office in New Delhi
18% voter turnout recorded till 11AM in Odisha in third phase polls
Sri Lanka bombings claim 10 Indian lives

Odisha Governor Honours Odisha Police Brave Hearts

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

26 January 2019

Debashish Maharana

Bhubaneswar: On the auspicious occasion of 70th Republic Day, Odisha Governor Prof Ganeshi Lal decorated the personnel of Odisha Police with medals for gallantry, distinguished and meritorious services.

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik also graced the special function at Jaydev Bhawan here.

Governor’s Medal for Distinguished Service:

(1) Arun Bothra, IPS, IGP, CID, CB, Odisha

(2) Amitabh Thakur, IPS, IGP, (L&O), Odisha

(3) Sudha Singh, IPS, SP, Vigilance, Bhubaneswar Division

(4) Kanhu Ranjan Patnaik, Commandant, Security Wing, Bhubaneswar

(5) Pradeep Kumar Mohapatra, Addl. SP, Ganjam

(6) Ashis Kumar Mishra, Inspector, EOW, CID, CB, Bhubaneswar

(7) Rashmi Ranjan Mohapatra, Inspector, Cuttack UPD

(8) Arun Baliarsingh, Sub Inspector, Security Wing, Bhubaneswar

(9) Alexander Kujur, Havildar, Jharsuguda

(10) Abakash Chandra Panda, Constable, Special Branch, Bhubaneswar

(11) Somanth Swain, Constable, Ganjam

(12) Pabitra Mohan Pradhan, Constable, Vigilance Directorate, Cuttack

Police Medal for Meritorious Service:

(1) Udaya Kumar Rath, Commandant, OSAP 8th Bn., Chhatrapur

(2) Jawahar Mohan Patel, Commandant 7th Special IR Bn, Kandhamal and Deputed to CMs Security Wing, Bhubaneswar

(3) Chandra Sekhar Patra, Commandant 8th Special IR Bn., Bhanjanagar and deputed to CMs Security Wing, Bhubaneswar

(4) Tankadhar Pradhan, Commandant, SP, SIW, Bhubaneswar and deputed to CMs Security, Bhubaneswar

(5) Bijaya Kumar Sahu, Deputy Commissioner of Police Training, UP & TTI, Bhubaneswar

(6) Radha Binod Panigrahi, Addl. Supdt. of Police, CID CB, Odisha, Cuttack

(7) Udayabhanu Mishra, DSP, BPSPA, Bhubaneswar

(8) Brundaban Ghadei, DSP, Special Intelligence Wing, Bhubaneswar

(9) Saroj Kumar Samal, DSP Vigilance Directorate, Odisha, Cuttack Rabindra Kumar Panda, In-Charge of DSP Vigilance Directorate, Odisha, Cuttack

(10) Mohit Kumar Mallick, ASI, CID CB, Odisha, Cuttack

(11) Rabindra Kumar Acharya, ASI Vigilance Directorate, Odisha, Cuttack

(12) Amiya Kumar Routray, Havildar Major, OSAP 6th Bn., Cuttack Saryabadi Mallick, Constable, UP & TTI Bhubaneswar

A total of 39 cops from Odisha were conferred with Police Medals and three prison personnel with Correctional Service Medals on the occasion of the Republic Day 2019.

While 26 personnel of Odisha Police have been selected for the Police Medal for Gallantry (PMG), two have been selected for the President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service and 11 for the Police Medal for Meritorious Service.

Likewise, one prison personnel from Odisha will receive Correctional Service Medals for Distinguished Service and two others will receive Correctional Service Medals for Meritorious Service.

The names of the awardees were published in two separate press releases issued by the Ministry of Home Affairs on the eve of Republic Day 2019.

President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service:

(1) Gyanaranjan Mohapatra, Deputy Superintendent of Police, Special Intelligence Wing, Odisha, Bhubaneswar, Odisha

(2) Asim Kumar Panda, ACP, Zone-1, Bhubaneswar, UPD, Odisha

Police Medal for Meritorious Service:

(1) Naba Kishore Das, Commandant, Odisha State Armed Police 1st Battalion, Dhenkanal

(2) Ajaya Kumar Padhi, Dy, Commandant, SOG, BBSR

(3) Ashok Kumar Deo, DSP, Special Intelligence Wing, BIM

(4) Prafulla Kumar Singh, ACP Security, Special Security Battalion, BBSR.

(5) Pradyumna Kumar Dwivedy, I/C DSP, Vigilance Directorate, Cuttack

(6) Snigdha Bhanja, I/C DSP, EOW, CID CB, Bhubaneswar

(7) Bikrarn Keshari Jena, Inspector, Khordha

(8) Brahamananda Panda, Sub Inspector, SIW, Bhubaneswar

(9) Kailash Chandra Pradhan, ASI, Sambalpur

(10) Alexander Kujur, Havildar, R.O. Jharsuguda

(11) Bipra Charan Gouda, Constable, Vigilance, Berhampur

Correctional Service Medals for Distinguished Service conferred to Pradeep Kumar Raj, District Probation Officer, Berhampur.

Correctional Service Medals for Meritorious Service conferred to Sunakar Pradhan, Prison Welfare Officer, Special Jail, Bhubaneswar Kamakhi Prasad Pati, Assistant Jailor, Circle Jail, Berhampur

It may further be mentioned that the President of India has approved the conferment of Jeevan Raksha Padak Series of Awards – 2018 on 48 persons which includes Sarvottam Jeevan Raksha Padak to 08 (Posthumous) including Rakesh Chandra Behera from Odisha, Uttam Jeevan Raksha Padak to 15 and Jeevan Raksha Padak to 25 persons.

Police Medal winners in the Republic Day - 2019 (To be awarded on 15th August — 2019)

President's Police Medal for Gallantry:

(1) Bidyadhar Sethi, Sub Inspector

(2) Bishal Bomjan, Commando

(3) Dhruba Bahadur Basnet, Havildar

(4) Rajendra Malla, Commando

(5) Deepak Singh Kunwar, Commando

(6) Rajesh Biswakarma, Havildar

(7) Sunil Kumar Nanda, ASI

(8) Kamalendu Sarangi, Havildar

(9) Madan Kishan, Constable

(10) Athnacius Jojo, Constable

(11) Mukesh Kumar Brahma, Constable

(12) Prateek Singh, IPS, SP

(13) Rabindra Sabar, Sub Inspector, 1" BAR To PMG

(14) Ashok Kumar Rath, Sub Inspector

(15) Alok Kumar Sethy, Havildar

(16) Dhananjay Barad, Commando

(17) Krushna Chandra Ping, Commando

(18) Santosh Kumar Dhan, Commando

(19) Jagannath Kanhar, OAPF

(20) Madhusudan Mallick, Constable

(21) Niranjan Sahu, Addl. SP, 1st BAR To PMG

(22) Keshaba Sisa, Havildar

(23) Jitendra Kumar Das, Havildar, 1st BAR To PMG

(24) Subaya Sekhar Bepari, Constable

(25) Urdhaba Chalan, Constable

(26) Kanhu Charan Majhi, Constable

Also Read: Let’s Dedicate Ourselves To Bharat Mata’s Brave Sons: Odisha Governor On 70th R-Day Celebration