Cops seize huge cache of brown sugar during simultaneous raids in Balasore
Man critical after being attacked by a stray elephant in Nilagiri
Woman allegedly set ablaze by her husband in Keonjhar
Om Birla to be the next Speaker of LokSabha !
BJD to support BJP MP Om Birla for Lok Sabha Speaker post
Odisha Health Dept inks BSKY MoU with AIIMS, BBSR
One person injured in bombing during a group clash in Benapanjari
Ace Odia weight lifter Ravi Kumar appeals NADA to re-consider ban
Prayagraj court sentences 4 to life, acquits 1 in 2005 Ayodhya attack
Odisha's school summer vacation extended till June 25

Odisha Government Announces Cash Rewards For Indian Hockey Players

10 December 2017


Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government on Sunday announced a Rs 10 lakh cash prize for each Indian hockey player who was part of the team that won the bronze medal by beating Germany in the Hockey World League final at Kalinga Stadium here.

While a Rs 10 lakh cash prize has been announced for the players and the coach, each supporting staff of Hockey India would get Rs 5 lakh.

"Well played, #India, bronze winners of #HWL2017. The young team showed brilliance & tremendous grit to achieve podium finish. Happy to announce a 10 lakh cash prize to each player & coach & 5 lakh each for support staff of @TheHockeyIndia. They have made us proud. #INDvGER," tweeted Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.

He distributed the bronze medals to the Indian Hockey players at the Kalinga Stadium here in the presence of Union Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan.

Sports Minister Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, who is also here to watch the matches, did not announce any incentives for the bronze medallists. He said that incentives are provided under the sports policy for nurturing the talent of players.

He said that the union government has revamped Khelo India aiming at impacting the entire sporting ecosystem, with wide-ranging interventions.

He said under this scheme, the government will provide a scholarship to 1,000 talented youngsters across various sports disciplines.

Each sportsperson selected under this scheme will receive an annual scholarship of Rs 5 lakh for eight consecutive years.


Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Naveen Patnaik, Chief Minister, Odisha

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, Union Sports Minister