Odisha DGP Reviews Security For 4th Phase Elections

25 April 2019


Bhubaneswar: DG Police Dr RP Sharma on Thursday reviewed the preparedness for fourth phase elections in Odisha scheduled on April 29.

Sharma interacted with DCP Cuttack and SPs of Cuttack, Jagatsinghpur, Kendrapara, Balasore, Jajpur, Bhadrak, Mayurbhanj and Puri which will go to polls on April 29.

The district police chiefs have been asked to ensure adquate security for candidates. Elections will be held in six Lok Sabha segments and 42 assembly seats. The DGP made an assessment of the enforcement drive undertaken in all districts during elections.

Dr Sharma directed the distrct SPs to keep the Integrated Control Rooms running round-the-clock with the involvement of Central Armed Police Force personnel, Revenue department and District Police.

Since all these nine districts are politically sensitive, the DGP asked the SPs to mount additional vigilance to ensure free, fair, transparent and incident-free election.