12 BJD MP-Elects Meet Naveen
12 BJD MP-Elects Meet Naveen

Odisha CM Visits Rourkela, Graces 'Chasi Mahasamabesh'

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

01 March 2019


Rourkela: Close on the heels of dedicating State’s largest thermal power plant owned by Odisha Power Generation Corporation (OPGC) at Banharpali in Jharsuguda district, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik visited adjoining Sundargarh district and dedicated the STI Overbridge to the people of Rourkela city.

The Chief Minister also laid foundation stone for the Kuanrmunda bridge to be constructed over Koel river.

Landing at Rourkela Aerodrome Ground from Jharsuguda airport in the afternoon, the Chief Minister inaugurated the overbridge as well as laid foundation for the bridge.

During the visit to Sundargarh district, he launched a total of 42 projects worth Rs 635 crore which include inauguration of 23 projects at an estimated cost of Rs 336.61 crore.

The Chief Minister also laid foundation stones for 19 projects to be built at an estimated cost of Rs 309.87 crore.

He also distributed assistance to the beneficiaries under the various schemes of KALIA, construction workers and women Self Help Group (SHGs).

Later the Chief Minister addressed ‘KALIA Chasi Samabesh’ (farmers’ convention).

In his address, he said that his Government is of the farmers, labourers and the poor people. Laying priority to agriculture and farmers as well as the labourers, KALIA scheme has been implemented. This scheme has paved path for the whole country. Financial assistance is being remitted to the bank accounts of the beneficiaries in phases.

The Chief Minister also announced that the second installment of KALIA assistance will be transferred to the bank accounts beneficiaries from April 1 and an additional 10 lakh farmers will be included into the scheme.

He also exhorted the beneficiary farmers to avail the benefits of KALIA Scholarship Yojana for their children as the State Government will bear the whole expenses for the higher studies and professional courses in the government-run institutions.

Also Read: CM Dedicates Odisha’s Largest Thermal Power Plant To Public