12 BJD MP-Elects Meet Naveen
12 BJD MP-Elects Meet Naveen

Odisha CM Confers 5 Scientists With ‘Kalinga Samman’ Awards For Popularisation Of Science

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

02 March 2019

Mohammed Ishtiyaque

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today conferred five eminent scientists with the coveted ‘Kalinga Samman’ Awards under the auspices of Kalinga Foundation Trust.

Kalinga Foundation Trust, Bhubaneswar has instituted this State Level Prize ‘KALINGA SAMMAN’ for Popularization of Science from the year 2010.

The Prize is presented annually to an eminent scientist and science popularizer of Odisha for his/her outstanding contribution for popularization of science among the common people.

The Prize carries a cash award of Rs 1 lakh, a memento and a citation which is presented by the Kalinga Foundation Trust.

Today the ‘Kalinga Samman’ was conferred to 5 eminent scientists from the years 2014 to 2019.

Padmashree Prof Dr Prafulla Kumar Jena was given for the year-2015.

Prof Jena is an eminent metallurgist, educationist and popular science writer. He was Director of Regional Research Laboratory, Bhubaneswar (now known as Institute of Minerals & Materials Technology). He was also the Director General of CSIR, Government of India. He was also Member of State Planning Board, Government of Odisha. He has been decorated with many distinguished awards and prizes in his long and eventful scientific career.

Dr Dwijesh Kumar Panda awarded for the year 2016.

Dr Panda is an eminent Filaria, Medicine, Microbiology Specialist and popular science writer. He has also received many awards and felicitations in his long medical profession and has written many popular science books in Odia & English to his credit.

Dr Jnanadev Moharana awarded for the year-2017.

Dr Moharana is an eminent Physicist and science writer of repute. He has received many awards and accolades during his long professional career. He is a fellow of many scientific bodies and has contributed immensely for the cause of popularization of science.

Dr Birendra Kishore Das awarded for the year-2018.

Dr Das is an eminent Radiologist, researcher and popular science writer of repute. Now he is director and chief of Nuclear Medicine, Utkal Institute of Medical Science, Bhubanewsar. He was educated in Germany and has specialized in Radiation Science and Nuclear Medicine.

Prof Dr Nimai Charan Panda awarded for the year-2019.

Dr Panda is an eminent Biochemistry professor, educationist, medical administrator, researcher and popular science writer of repute both in Odia and English languages. He was the Principal of SCB Medical College, Cuttack and Director of Medical Education & Research, Odisha. He was President of Bigyan Prachar Samiti, Cuttack and received Honorary Doctorate from Utkal University for his outstanding contribution to Health Sciences, particularly Biochemistry.

Also Read: Odisha CM Visits Jajpur, Dedicates Utkal University’s New Campus (Rural) At Chandikhol

Also Read: Meet The Radio Man Of Odisha

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Naveen Patnaik, Chief Minister, Odisha

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Dr. Birendra Kishore Das, Kalinga Samman Awardee