Odisha: CEO Holds All Party Meeting For Bijepur By-Election

24 September 2019


Bhubaneswar: Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Surendra Kumar on Tuesday held an all-party meeting ahead of the Bijepur by-election. The State Government on Monday issued a gazette notification for the bypoll to Bijepur Assembly scheduled on October 21.

After the declaration of by-polls by the CEC, the model code of conduct has come into effect in Bargarh district. Kumar sought the cooperation of leaders of all political parties for smooth conduct of the by-election.

While filing nomination, the candidates have been asked to duly fill in all the columns and rows of Form 26. Officials said that M3 Version of EVM/VVPAT will be used for the first time in Bijepur bypoll.

The last date for filing nomination papers is September 30, while scrutiny of nomination papers will be held on October 1 and counting of votes will be held on October 24.

Ashok Tripathy, Sameer Mohanty and Golak Mohapatra of BJP, Ananta Narayan Jena of BJD, and senior leaders of other political parties and Election officials were present.

As many as 2,32,005 voters comprising 1,19,916 male, 1,12,074 female and 15 third gender voters are eligible to cast their votes at 285 polling booths.