Odisha: Banks To Operate From 10 AM To 4 PM

30 September 2019

Debashish Maharana

Bhubaneswar: The State Level Bankers’ Committee (SLBC) at its meeting here on Monday directed all public sector banks to have uniform business hours from 10 AM to 4 PM. The revised bank timings will come into effect from Tuesday.   

Soon after the 156th SLBC meeting UCO Bank Meeting Atul Goyal, CEO UCO Bank informed that the move is aimed at removing differences in operation timings of various public sector banks.

Private banks have been also requested to do the same, he added.

Goyal further informed that a sum of Rs 5,853 crores has been disbursed as loans to 1, 23,090 beneficiaries after Cyclone Fani hit the State.

At the meeting Additional Secretary, Financial Services of the Union Finance Ministry Debashish Panda said that banks should prioritize lending to tourism, handicrafts and handloom sectors and added banks should open more permanent branches in the State.

Participating in the meeting Development Commissioner-cum-Additional Chief Secretary Suresh Chandra Mohapatra suggested that banks should organise loan melas in every block.

Principal Secretary of the Finance department Ashok K Meena pointed out at the meeting that financial inclusion in the State is facing hurdles since less number of bank branches are operating in the State. 

Atul Goyal, CEO, UCO Bank