Baripada Police arrested two persons and seized 17 kg of ganja
Prawn trader, 2 others suffer critical injury after miscreants hurl bomb
A leopard reportedly found dead in Tigiria yesterday
Farmer allegedly commits suicide over loan burden
Boipariguda CDPO Surama Mohapatra suspended
Students of Utkal University stage protest, gherao vice-chancellor
If required I will visit J&K: CJI as he seeks report from HC
Surjya Narayan Patro directs former MLAs to vacate government quarters

Odisha Assembly Deputy Speaker Election Tomorrow

26 June 2019

Debashish Maharana

Bhubaneswar: A day after Odisha Assembly’s Speaker Surya Narayan Patro announced a seven-member panel for presiding over the House proceedings of the ongoing Budget Session in his absence, today he formally announced the election date for the post of Deputy Speaker.

As per the announcement made by the Speaker, the election to the post of Deputy Speaker has been slated for tomorrow (June 27) while candidates (MLAs) can apply for nominations by 12 noon today.

Notably, BJD supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has much earlier nominated senior party MLA (Angul) Rajnikant Singh for the Deputy Speaker post this time.

Apart from this significant announcement, the Speaker also apprised the House about the arrest of Patnagarh MLA Saroj Meher in the PWD humiliation case.

The Speaker quoted the letter received by his office from Balangir SP.