Odia Girl Sushree Dibyadarshini To Play In Women's IPL T20

26 April 2019


Bhubaneswar: As part of their ongoing commitment to grow the women’s game, Board of Control for Cricket in India (BBCI) announced the 2019 Women’s T20 Challenge on Tuesday (April 23).  The Women’s T20 will be made up of three teams playing four matches in Jaipur as standalone games during the 2019 VIVO IPL Playoff week. There is more good news for people of Odisha as Odia girl Sushree Dibyadarshini Pradhan has been selected for the Velocity team that will be led by Mithali Raj.

Born in Dhenkanal, this 21-year-old girl has already played 102 matches in teams like Odisha U-19 women, U-23 women, Senior Women, East Zone U-19 Women, and India Green. She is a right-arm off-spinner and right-handed batsman.

According to BCCI, the teams comprise of current and future stars of Indian cricket playing alongside a selection of the world’s best players. All matches are set to be held at Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. The matches will also telecast live on Star Sports Network.

The Squads:

Supernovas: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Anuja Patil, Arundhati Reddy, Chamari Athapaththu (SL), Jemima Rodrigues, Lea Tahuhu(NZ), Mansi Joshi, Natalie Sciver(ENG), Poonam Yadav, Priya Punia, Radha Yadav, Sophie Devine(NZ), Taniya Bhatia, Coach: WV Raman

Velocity: Mithali Raj (c), Amelia Kerr (NZ), Danielle Wyatt (ENG), Devika Vaidya, Ekta Bisht, Hayley Matthews (WI), Jahanara Alam (B'DESH), Komal Zhanzad, Shafali Verma, Shikha Pandey, Sushma Verma, Sushree Dibyadarshini, Veda Krishnamurthy, Coach: Mamta Maben

Trailblazers: Smriti Mandhana (c), Bharti Fulmali, Dayalan Hemalatha, Deepti Sharma, Harleen Deol, Jasia Akhtar, Jhulan Goswami, R Kalpana, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shakera Selman (WI), Sophie Ecclestone (ENG), Stafanie Taylor (WI), Suzie Bates (NZ), Coach: Biju George


May 6 - Supernovas vs Trailblazers

May 8 - Trailblazers vs Velocity

May 9 - Supernovas vs Velocity

May 11 – Final

The combined strength of talent on display will showcase the quality of women’s cricket.