Brother-sister duo killed in road accident in Bolangir
Puri: IIC transferred for clicking selfie with a murder accused
Margaret Atwood, Bernardine Evaristo Win Booker Prize
Rourkela: Five miscreants loot Rs 13 lakh at gunpoint from a vehicle
White Tiger 'Subhranshu' dies at Nandankanan Zoo
Two minor girls allegedly abducted by miscreants in kendrapada
400 packets of cigarette seized at Bhubaneswar airport

No Minister From Western Odisha In Modi Cabinet: Sushant Singh

31 May 2019

Debashish Maharana

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Bhubaneswar: The Narendra Modi-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government that took oath yesterday has neglected Western Odisha by not allotting any ministry to the MPs from the region, said Rural Development, Labour and ESI Minister Sushant Singh on Friday.

While Singh welcomed the induction of two MPs from Odisha in Narendra Modi’s new team, he said though the BJP has won five Lok Sabha seats from Western Odisha, not a single MP from the region is part of the Union Council of Ministers.

On the other hand, Singh said that the Naveen Patnaik-led BJD government in Odisha has given its due share to Western Odisha by inducting six MLAs from the region in its cabinet.

In his reaction, BJP's Bhawanipatna MLA Pradipta Kumar Naik termed it as the party's decision. While nobody is undeserving, the responsibilities have been allotted to few persons keeping the future in mind.

Congress MLA from Jeypore, Taraprasad Bahinipati, while said that Odisha should feel proud as one of its sons has retained his ministry, people will hate the two Union Ministers from Odisha if they do not work for the State, he added.

It is worthwhile to mention that Dharmendra Pradhan and Pratap Chandra Sarangi from Odisha have bagged two important portfolios in Narendra Modi’s new team. While Pradhan is a Rajya Sabha member from Madhya Pradesh, Sarangi was elected from the Balasore Lok Sabha seat.

The BJD MLAs from Western Odisha that are part of Naveen Patnaik’s new team are, Tukuni Sahu (Titlagarh), Niranjan Pujari (Sonepur), Dibya Shankar Mishra (Junagarh), Padmanabha Behera (Birmaharajpur), Sushanta Singh (Bhatli), Naba Kishore Das (Jharsuguda).

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Sushant Singh, Minister, Rural Development, Labour & ESI

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Pradipta Kumar Naik, MLA, Bhawanipatna

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Taraprasad Bahinipati, MLA, Jeypore