Brother-sister duo killed in road accident in Bolangir
Puri: IIC transferred for clicking selfie with a murder accused
Margaret Atwood, Bernardine Evaristo Win Booker Prize
Rourkela: Five miscreants loot Rs 13 lakh at gunpoint from a vehicle
White Tiger 'Subhranshu' dies at Nandankanan Zoo
Two minor girls allegedly abducted by miscreants in kendrapada
400 packets of cigarette seized at Bhubaneswar airport

New MPs Aparajita, Suresh & Jual Remain Absent From Odisha BJP’s Felicitation Programme

08 June 2019

Debashish Maharana

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Bhubaneswar: Even though Odisha unit of BJP held a grand felicitation programme here today for according a rousing reception to recently sworn-in Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan and Pratap Sarangi as well all its new party MPs and MLAs, three MPs of the saffron party were conspicuous by their absence.

The three are Bhubaneswar MP Aparajita Sarangi, Sundargarh MP Jual Oram and Bargarh MP Suresh Pujari.

While Aparajita, a former Odisha cadre IAS officer, was expected to get a ministerial berth in PM Modi’s cabinet, former Tribal Affairs Minister Jual Oram’s name and BJP national secretary Suresh Pujari’s name were also making the rounds as eight MPs have been elected this time from the State.

But, Odisha has got represented in PM Modi’s new Council of Ministers by only Dharmendra and Pratap.

On being queried, Odisha BJP spokesperson Dilip Mohanty defended, “As they have been newly-elected, felicitations are being accorded to them at their respective local areas. There isn’t any specific reason for their absence today. Grand felicitation is being accorded to the two Union Ministers, party MPs and MLAs.”

“The three couldn’t turn up today due to pre-engagements. We are all happy to celebrate this occasion today,” he claimed.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Dilip Mohanty, Spokesperson, BJP, Odisha