Man allegedly kills son & buries body in his backyard in Athagarh
Railways increases advance reservation period for special trains to120 days
Odisha reports 63 fresh Covid19 cases today
Two floor of Parliament Annexe building sealed after officer tests positive
Newly-wed couple found dead in their house in Bhubaneswar

Naveen Retains Hinjli Vacates Bijepur Assembly Seat

02 June 2019


Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has retained the Hinjli seat and vacated Bijepur assembly constituency.

On Sunday, Naveen sent a letter to Odisha Legislative Assembly Speaker Surjya Narayan Patra informing him about his decision to retain Hinjli.

It was for the first time in his 22- year long political career when Naveen contested from two seats in elections. The BJD supremo won convincingly from both Hinjli and Bijepur assembly constituencies in the 2019 elections.

In Bijepur Naveen won with 1.10 lakh votes securing almost 60 percent of the votes. Similarly, in Hinjli 93,909 votes were cast in favour of Naveen who secured 66.32 percent of the votes.