Vigilance conducts raids at Executive engineer house of Balasore
wanted criminal Bhagu caught in police encounter at Pipili over bridge
Odisha Bar Association meeting today in premises of Orissa High Court
Man, elder son electrocuted to death in Sonepur
CJI Gogoi Recommends Justice S A Bobde As His Successor
14 named in CBI's INX Media charge sheet

Mahanadi Pandemonium Mars Yet Again Odisha Assembly

11 December 2017

Soumya Ranjan Sahoo

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Bhubaneswar: The plaguing problem of Mahanadi water sharing dispute between Odisha and Chhattisagarh is not only sub judice in the Supreme Court, it has been stalling the ongoing winter session of Odisha Assembly since its inception two weeks ago.

Apart from last week’s din in the House both by the ruling and opposition Congress and BJP, this week’s Monday was also not spared.

Even though a House Committee has been unanimously formed on Friday at the all-party meeting chaired by Speaker Pradip Kumar Amat to chalk out further strategies to protect Odisha interests over its lifeline Mahanadi, Chhattisgarh Water Resources Minister’s controverial statements on the proposed interlinking of Mahanadi has further added fuel to the fire.

The Question Hour of Monday’s House session passed off peacefully with normal functioning.

However, ruling BJD senior MLA and former minister Sanjay Dasburma raised the contentious issue following which his party legislators created ruckus the moment Question Hour ended and Zero Hour begun.

The enraged BJD members also lambasted BJP-led Centre for dilly-dallying over Odisha Chief Minister’s persistent demand for Tribunal to resolve the Mahanadi row and also vehemently objected to the Centre’s plea of Unified Tribunal.

Unable to run the House smoothly for the uproar, Speaker had to adjourn it till 3 pm. Later on, the same uproarious scene stayed put and the House was forced adjourned repeatedly.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Sanjay Dasburma, Senior MLA, BJD

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Tara Prasad Bahinipati, Congress Chief Whip, Odisha

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Pradeep Purohit, MLA, BJP, Odisha