Puri Municipality relaxes shutdown norms in the town
2 bikers killed after being hit by a truck in Jharsuguda
WHO recommends wider use of face masks to curb COVID19
48-Hour Weekend Shutdown To Contain COVID-19 Spread Begins In Odisha
173 new COVID19 positive cases reported in Odisha

Live Updates Of Phase-IV Polls In Odisha

29 April 2019


Bhubaneswar: Voters of six Lok Sabha constituencies -- Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Kendrapara and Jagatsinghpur –along with the 41 Assembly segments under them are electing their representatives today. Here are the Live Updates of the phase-IV polls in the State:

3:30 pm- 53% voter turnout in Odisha till 3 pm.

3 pm- Resentment among voters after polling disrupted for the second time at booth no- 64 under Basudevpur Assembly constituency following EVM glitches. Similar case reported in booth 238 in Aul, Kendrapara.

1 pm- 35% voter turnout.

12:00pm- Amidst fourth and final phase polling in Odisha, three polling officials were suspended by Jajpur Collector Ranjan Das today for alleegdly influencing voters. They are- Presiding officer of Binjharpur booth no.191 Baikunthanath Mallick, Presiding Officer Dhirendranath Tripathy of booth- 135 in Binjharpur and Fourth polling office at booth no.196 in Sukinda, Janardhan Prusty. 

 11:00 am- 17% of polling recorded till 11 am

10:30 am - Nearly 1,000 persons in Sukinda boycott polls over shifting them from Kalinganagar Industrial area in Jajpur. Three villages in Patkura, Kendrapara boycott elections too.

10:15 am- People of Naliapala village under Garei panchayat in Erasama boycott polls in Jagastsinghpur.

9:45 am- EVM allegedly smashed inside booth no.173 of Dharmasala under Jajpur parliamentary constituency

9:30 am- 9% of polling recorded till 9 am.

9:15 am- Booth 144 at Sahadevkhunta, booth 113 at Sunahat, booth 93 and 137 in Nilagiri, booth 35 in Remuna, booth 119 at Soro, booth 126 at Seragarh and booth 140 in Balasore district reported EVM problems.

9:00 am- Machines in booths 102 and 103 at Jagatsinghpur Municipality and booths 29 and 40 of Jagatsinghpur faced technical snag. Similarly, the EVMs failed at booth number 221 of Sukinda, booth 184 in Binjharpur, booth 84, 68 and 199 in Korei.

8:45 am- Reports stated, voting delayed due to EVM glitches in booth no 219, 268 in Kakatpur, booth no 42, 66 of Nimapara, booth no 214 in Paradip, multiple places in Kujanga.

8:40 am- In Balasore, technical glitches in Vidhan Sabha VVPAT machine in booth 72 of Simulia.  Similar problems reported in booth 125 of Trilochanpur and other Simulia booths like 119, 109 and 110.

8:30 AM - In Kendrapara, EVM Malfunction delays voting at booths no 226 & 128 in Aul and booth no 213 in Aienda of Mahanga

8:15 am- In Mayurbhanj, voting gets delayed in multiple booths- 34 & 35 in Baripada, 33 in Bangiriposi, 102 and 22 in Badasahi, 142 and 197 in Rairangpur, 39 and 60 in Saraskana.

8:10 am- Voting delayed at booth number 181, 185, 222, 244, 245, 54, and 243 following EVM malfunction under Dhamnagar Assembly constituency in Bhadrak. Voting also delayed at booth number 71, 183, 1 98, 220 in Bhandaripokhari; booths no 2, 46, 208, 50 in Soro; booths 69, 114,116 in Basudevpur; booths 216,14 and 239 in Chandbali due to technical glitches.

8:00 am- Voting delayed in booths no 5 and 203 in Ulumara and Natakata panchayats respectively due to glitches in VVPAT machines

7:50 am- EVM at booths no 68, 226 in Rajnagar of Kendrapara develops technical snag

7:45 am- Voting delayed due to EVM glitches in booth no 138 under Balikuda-Erasama constituency in Jagatsinghpur district. In Jajpur, similar problems reported from booth no 115 of Dharmasala, booth no 110 of Bari & booth no 96 of Jajpur.

7:30 am- EVM glitches delay voting process in several booths.

7:15 am- First time voters were seen enthusiastic to exercise their franchise. At some booths, women in large numbers were seen waiting in queue for their turn to cast their votes. Moreover, the elderly were also seen frisked by their relatives to decide the fate of the candidates.  

7 am- Polling starts. It is expected to gain momentum with progress of the day and will continue till 6 pm. (Note: In Patkura under Kendrapara Lok Sabha seat, the elections were countermanded after the death of BJD candidate Bed Prakash Agarwalla. The polling has been rescheduled to May 19)