Live Updates Of Phase-III Polls In Odisha

23 April 2019


Bhubaneswar: Voters of six Lok Sabha constituencies -- Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Puri, Sambalpur, Keonjhar and Dhenkanal –along with the 42 Assembly segments under them are electing their representatives today. Here are the Live Updates of the phase-III polls in the State:

5.30 pm-Odisha Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) informed media that the polling by 5 pm for the Phase-III election in the State has been recorded to be tentatively 61%.

5 pm- According to reports, 5 injured in a clash that erupted over booth rigging allegations between supporters of two political parties outside booth no 1 at Kalinga panchayat in Khurda.

3:45 pm- Odisha records 47% polling till 3 pm. Polling percentages are as follows: Bhubaneswar- 35%, Puri- 48%, Cuttack- 44%, Dhenkanal- 44%, Keonjhar- 42% and Sambalpur- 40%.

1:45 pm- Odisha records 34% polling till 1 pm.

11:30 am- Odisha records 18% polling till 11 am.

9:45 am- Odisha records 6% voter turnout till 9 am. Bhubaneswar- 4% Cuttack- 7%, Puri- 7%, Sambalpur- 8% and Dhenkanal- 7%.

9:40 am- Odisha Chief Minister and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik casts vote in booth-112 in Aerodrome Colony UP School in Bhubaneswar.

9:30 am- BJD candidates Debasish Samantaray, Anubhav Mohanty, Pinaki Mishra, Maheswar Mohanty and Bhartruhari Mahtab exercised their franchise at their respective polling booths. BJD candidate for Khandapada Soumya Ranjan Patnaik also cast his vote.

9:15 am- Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan casts his vote at Talcher Deulabeda Telisahi Primary School booth.

9:10 am- Puri Gajapati Dibyasingh Deb casts his vote.

9:00 am- Former IAS officer and BJP candidate for Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha seat Aparajita Sarangi casts her vote at a polling booth-113 in Government Primary School, IRC village. BJP's BBSR North candidate Aparajita Mohanty also exercised her franchise.

8:45 am- EVM problems reported from booth no 146 at Gadadhar School (Puri), booth no 148 at Puri Sadar, booth no 5 at Balipatpur (Brahmagiri),booth no 258 at Chaneswar Dev School (Pipili), booth no 179 at Rajabagicha & booth no 169 Badambadi (Cuttack), booth no 145, 101, 135, 138 in Kuchinda.

8:30 AM - Reports stated that voting was delayed at booth no 112 in Bhubaneswar-Ekamra constituency, EVM also developed glitches at booth no 32 & 70 in Bhubaneswar-Central, booth no 96 & 109 in Banki and booth no 128 & 130 in Ranpur, Nayagarh.

8:15 am- Voting delayed in booth no 232 at Hindol and Municipality's booth no 193 & 194 in Dhenkanal.

8:10 am- EVM glitches reported from booth no 37 at Karanjia, booth no 212, 213 & 45 in Keonjhar, booth no 34 & 36 at Begunia, booth no 173, 179, 180, 181, 182, 183 at Jatni, booth no 281 at Anandapur, booth no 90 at Sarala, booth no 221, 243, 255 of Keonjhar Municipality.

8:00 am- EVM malfunction in booth no 5 at Balipatpur (Puri), booth no 179 at Rajabagicha, booth no 169 at Badambadi New Colony (Cuttack), booth no 122 at Katarapali (Sambalpur).

7:50 am- Voting delayed at polling booths no- 113 and 115 in Sakhigopinathpur due to technical difficulties in EVM.

7:45 am- Glitches in EVM of booth no-243 of Bhubaneswar North constituency. Voting delayed.

7:30 am- EVM glitches delay voting process in several booths.

7:15 am- First time voters were seen enthusiastic to exercise their franchise. At some booths, women in large numbers were seen waiting in queue for their turn to cast their votes. Moreover, the elderly were also seen frisked by their relatives to decide the fate of the candidates.  

7 am- Polling starts. It is expected to gain momentum with progress of the day and will continue till 6 pm.