Woman burns to death after a fire breaks out in Bhadrak
House adjourned till 11:30 AM after BJP MLAs create ruckus
State Cabinet approves five proposals
Nirbhaya rapists to be hanged at 6 a.m. on March 3

Live Updates Of Patkura Assembly Seat Result

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

24 July 2019


Bhubaneswar: Here is the final result of the democratic mandate given by the citizens of politically sensitive Patkura Assembly seat during the ‘prestige battle’ held on July 20.

The counting began at 8 am and the final result is:

BJD candidate Sabitri Agarwalla: Leading by 17,655 votes (95,162 total votes) 

BJP candidate Bijoy Mohapatra: Trailing (77,507 total votes)

Congress candidate Jayanta Mohanty: 2090 total votes

It is notable to mention here that over 71 per cent voter turnout was recorded during the polling on Saturday. Today, as many as 18 rounds of counting was done amid tight security.  

After the polling, all Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) and VVPATs were kept in the strong room at Kendrapara Autonomous College constantly guarded by CAPF, mobile patrol team and district police.

BJD candidate Sabitri Agarwalla, wife of Late Bed Prakash Agarwalla, BJP heavyweight Bijoy Mohapatra and Congress’ Jayanta Mohanty were prominent candidates in the fray.