Leaders Who Dumped BJD Face Defeat In Odisha

24 May 2019


Bhubaneswar: Many prominent leaders who quit the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) and were contesting elections have lost in Odisha.

Former Kendrapada MP Baijayant Panda who joined the BJP a month ago has is trailing from actor turned politician Anubhav Mohanty.

Former Minister Damodar Rout who joined the BJP after his long innings in the Janata Dal followed by BJD, is also trailing in his home turf, Paradip assembly constituency.

Former Minister in BJD Government Raghunath Mohanty is losing from the from his bastion Basta assembly constituency. Mohanty, a veteran, had quit BJD ahead of the elections and joined the BJP.

Technocrat-turned politician Balabhadra Majhi who quit BJD and joined BJP in March 2019, is losing from Nabarangpur. BJD’s Ramesh Majhi is leading from Nabarangpur.

Former Koraput MP Jayaram Pangi who joined BJP in May 2017 after parting ways with BJD, is losing in Koraput. Jinha Hikaka’s wife KausalyaHikaka is leading in Koraput LS seat.

Former Union Minister Arjun Sethi's son Avimanyu Sethi is losing in Bhadrak from BJD's Manjulata Mandal. Avimanyu was fielded for the LS seat by BJP after the father son-duo quit BJD.

Similarly, Rabi Mallick of BJP is losing from Kakatpur. Mallick is trailing third behind Tushar Kanti Behera of the BJD and the Congress candidate in Kakatpur. Mallick had quit BJD and joined the BJP.