Maoists reportedly kill a contractor in Kalahandi
Vigilance sleuths arrest a junior engineer in Keonjhar
Woman allegedly killed by in-laws over dowry demand

Jharsuguda MLA Naba Das Resigns From Odisha Assembly

28 January 2019


Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Bhubaneswar: Former Congress MLA Naba Kishore Das tendered his resignation from Odisha Assembly today by handing over his papers to the Speaker Pradip Kumar Amat.

In the letter, he wrote, "I hereby tender my resignation from the Membership of Assembly seat for the Jharsuguda Constituency forthwith as I resigned from the Indian National Congress and joined Biju Janata Dal. The resignation is given voluntarily and the same may kindly be accepted in accordance with Rule - 168 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Odisha Legislative Assembly. I convey my heartfelt gratitude for your kind cooperation during tenure of my Membership."

On January 25, Das joined Biju Janata Dal after resigning from the primary membership of Congress, but he had not resigned as a legislator. Das was the working president of Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC). He was elected as Jharsuguda MLA consecutively for two times being a Congress candidate.

Also Read: Odisha: Suspecting To Be Cattle Thieves, Villagers Thrash Youths, Torch Vehicle In Cuttack

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Pradip Kumar Amat, Speaker, Odisha

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Naba Kishore Das, Former Congress MLA (Jharsuguda)