Is Bijepur’s Historic Victory A Thumbs Up To Naveen’s 5T Initiatives

24 October 2019

Debashish Maharana

Bhubaneswar: The results of Bijepur by-poll are out and it is official now. Biju Janata Dal (BJD) candidate and former Bijepur MLA, Rita Sahu has scored a record victory in Odisha history polling 1,35,957 votes.

Sahu won the Bijepur By-polls with a colossal 97,994 margin at the end of 21 rounds. She broke records by scalping the highest ever votes in an Assembly election for the State. Soon after the counting ended and the result were out, Naveen congratulated Sahu for her huge historic win which broke all records in Odisha's electoral history.

The Bijepur victory is a testimony to Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik's charisma over the electorate, which translates into votes. Be it an assembly election, panchayat, Lok Sabha or a by-poll for that matter, the popularity of the BJD president has been the telling factor in pulling votes.

Every election is a self-assessment of the Government in power and the Bijepur by-poll can be dubbed as test for the BJD Government’s 5T initiative and Mo Sarkar scheme. While Sahu’s victory never came as a surprise, what mattered is the winning margin - 73 per cent of the total votes polled.

OMMCOM NEWS team spoke to political leaders and analysts about what the resounding BJD victory and how it reflects the acceptance of 5T initiative and Mo Sarkar scheme. The excerpts...

Senior journalist and political analyst Sandeep Sahu said, Bijepur victory is a reaffirmation of faith and trust in the Chief Minister. The hope that the promises which he made two years back in the run-up to the by-election necessitated by the demise of sitting MLA Subal Sahu (Rita Sahu's husband) will be fulfilled, he said.

“Their people of this constituency voted for development. The result also reflects a complete rejection of BJP and Congress propaganda that the Chief Minister ditched the people by quitting Bijepur and keeping Hinjli. They have given a huge mandate with a hope that the Chief Minister will personally look after the interests of the constituency,” Sahu added.

Health and Family Welfare Minister, Naba Kishore Das said, the Bijepur election result has made it clear that Odisha's CM Naveen Patnaik is the most popular leader in the country today. "There is a wave of Naveen Patnaik who is loved by one and all. Bijepur victory endorses our CM's popularity and acceptance among the voters."

School and Mass Education Minister said the Chief Minister had earlier announced that Bijepur is his own constituency and has done a lot for the development of this segment. We were sure that the results of this election would be historic. All the projects which were promised in 2019 elections have started which gained the trust and confidence of the voters like never before."

Over the past two decades in Odisha, people have voted for Naveen Patnaik over and over again. The major vote-pulling factors have been development and people-centric schemes, people in the political circuit opined. "However, the 5T initiatives and Mo Sarkar scheme are something unique to the State which have been recently launched and gained Statewide acceptance," a senior scribe said.

Sandeep Sahu, Senior Journalist

Naba Kishore Das, Minister, Health and Family Welfare, Odisha

Samir Ranjan Das, Minister, School and Mass Education Minister, Odisha