Indian Men’s Hockey Team In Bhubaneswar For National Camp & FIH Men’s Series Finals

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

19 May 2019

Debashish Maharana

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Bhubaneswar: As the FIH Men’s Series Finals is set to be held in Kalinga Stadium here from June 6 onwards, the Indian team returned from their Australian Tour and reached capital city Bhubaneswar today to join the Senior Men’s National Camp and prepare for the upcoming championship.

Hockey India has retained all the 18 players of the Indian Team that took part at the recently concluded Australian Tour where the team won two matches against WA Thundersticks and Australia ‘A’ respectively.

Captain Manpreet Singh said, "FIH series is extremely important for us as it is the Olympic qualifiers. We will train to give our 100%."

Chief Coach Graham Reid said, “In terms of preparation for the upcoming series in Bhubaneswar, the Australian tour was ideal. It provided me a great opportunity to view players at much closer quarters and under the pressure of a world-class team.”

On his plans to tackle the hot conditions in Bhubaneswar during the upcoming National Camp, Reid said, “This first week back will be a lighter week as the team needs to refresh as well. It will give us a chance to work on skills that we have identified during the Australian Tour. Bhubaneswar is very hot this time of the year so we will be training early morning and later at night to avoid the heat.”

The list for the National camp includes Goalkeepers PR Sreejesh, Suraj Karkera and Krishan Bahadur Pathak have been called up, while Defenders Harmanpreet Singh, Birendra Lakra, Surender Kumar, Amit Rohidas, Varun Kumar, Rupinder Pal Singh, Gurinder Singh, Kothajit Singh Khadangbam, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Jarmanpreet Singh, have all been called up. Manpreet Singh, Sumit, Nilakanta Sharma, Jaskaran Singh, Hardik Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Ashis Kumar Topno, Sayyad Niyaz Rahim, Rajkumar Pal are the Midfielders who will take part in the National Camp. Forwards Mandeep Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Shilanand Lakra, Gursahibjit Singh, Shamsher Singh, Armaan Qureshi, Sumit Kumar, Simranjeet Singh, SV Sunil and Gurjant Singh have also been called up by Chief Coach Graham Reid.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Manpreet Singh, Captain, Indian Team

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Graham Reid, Chief Coach