Bus carrying over 30 migrants from Kerala overturns on NH-16 in Balasore
USA Terminating Relationship With WHO: Trump
Odisha reports 96 COVID19 positive cases today

Have Urged Thrice To Accept My Resignation, Now AICC May Decide: Niranjan Patnaik

12 August 2019

Debashish Maharana

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Bhubaneswar: As the All India Congress Committee (AICC) is yet to accept the resignation of Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) president Niranjan Patnaik even though he toed the line of outgone AIIC president Rahul Gandhi soon after the poll debacle of this year’s general elections, Patnaik is now hopeful of being relieved after Sonia Gandhi became the interim president of the grand old party.  

In his media reactions today, outgoing PCC chief Niranjan Patnaik said, “Ignorant of the definite steps being taken on the change of guard in the PCC and the organization here. However, I have toured Delhi thrice after I tendered my resignation and have urged the AICC leadership to accept my resignation soon and relieve me of my responsibility.”

“I used to get the reply that first the AICC issue to be resolved and then the next move will be of PCC. Not only our PCC, but also other PCCs. Thus, I hope the issue of PCCs across the country will be taken into consideration and a decision to be taken. Yesterday I have once again approached to accept my resignation soon.” he stated.

In his media reactions on this issue, former PCC president Jaydev Jena said, “The day PCC president Niranjan Patnaik announced his resignation and has also stated that he has dissolved his PCC team, there is no question of retention of old one. Once it is dissolved, new one will come up and the new members will start working.”

“AICC president Sonia Gandhi is well aware of the tit and bit of Odisha Congress unit. Hence, she needs no special guidance. As she knows well, she will act in the right direction,” remarked Jena.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Niranjan Patnaik, Outgoing President, PCC, Odisha

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Jaydev Jena, Ex-President, PCC, Odisha