Bodies of woman, her married daughter recovered from their house
Cobra along with her 25 hatchlings rescued by members of Snake Helpline
Odisha Doctors Join Nationwide Day-Long Strike, OPDs Shut
Two killed in lightning strike in Badadei village
Lakhs Flock To Puri As Snana Purnima Rituals Begin, Devotees Enthralled
Minister of State (MoS) and BJP's Balasore MP Pratap Sarangi takes oath
Orissa HC Lawyers Boycott Court Till June 26
ASI Installs Jaya-Vijay Idols At Singhadwar Of Puri Srimandir
3 New Cyber Crime Police Stations To Be Set Up: Odisha DGP

Elections In Odisha Will Be Fought And Won On The ‘Naveen Factor’: Arup Patnaik

28 March 2019

Debashish Maharana

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Bhubaneswar: Its Arup Vs Aparajita in Bhubaneswar, which will be one of the most watched and keenly contested constituencies in India. Arup Patnaik of the BJD has had a long and chequered career as a tough cop in Maharashtra while Aparajita Sarangi, a former IAS officer and stickler for rules, has served for a good 15 years in Odisha.

After his name was announced for the Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha seat by Chief Minister and BJD president Naveen Patnaik, Arup turned up at the Naveen Nivas to express his gratitude to the party supremo.

"The elections will be fought in Odisha on the basis of one factor, that is Naveen. The Chief Minister's developmental work, clean image and commitment for the people of Odisha will win votes for us," the former cop said.

Sharing his thoughts on the election environment Arup quipped, "Shaadi nahin kiye to kya hua, barat bohot dekhi hai," referring to his policing career spanning four decades. "I have been a fighter all through my life and stood steady on duty in several elections which occurred in my career as a police officer. Though I will be contesting for the first time, I am not naive to elections," he said.

Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha seat has been represented by Prasanna Patsani since 1998. Naveen said on Wednesday that Patsani would be sent to Rajya Sabha and announced the name of Arup Patnaik for the Capital City seat.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Arup Patnaik, Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha Candidate, Biju Janata Dal