12 BJD MP-Elects Meet Naveen
12 BJD MP-Elects Meet Naveen

Elections 2019: Polls To Be Held In 4 Phases In Odisha

10 March 2019

Mohammed Ishtiyaque

Bhubaneswar: The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Sunday announced the schedule of elections 2019 which will be conducted from April 11.

The elections to be conducted in seven phases will conclude on May 19. Odisha will go to polls in four phases. Odisha will vote for the 21 Lok Sabha seats from April 11 to April 29.

The first phase of polling for 4 seats will be held on April 11. The second phase of polling will be held on April 18 for 5 seats.

The third phase for 6 seats on April 23 and the fourth and final phase for 6 seats will be held on April 29. The votes for the seven-phase election would be counted on May 23.

Polls in Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Berhampur and Koraput will be held on April 11. Elections in Bargarh, Sundergarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal and Aska will be held on April 18.

Similarly, in the third phase six parliamentary constituencies - Sambalpur, Keonjhar, Dhenkanal, Cuttack, Puri and Bhubaneswar will go for polls on April 23. In the fourth phase, elections will be held in Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Kendrapada and Jagatsinghpur on April 29.

Soon after Election Commission’s announcement, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik tweeted: “I welcome Election Commission of India’s announcement for elections to #Odisha Assembly & Lok Sabha to be held on 11, 18, 23 & 29 April. Pleased to pledge wholehearted support for the electoral process that is the foundation of our democracy.”