Two kids drown after falling into pond while playing in Kharakhai village
Five Maoists killed in encounter with security forces in Narayanpur
Former Finance Minister Arun Jaitley passes away at AIIMS

Elections 2019: Giant Killers Of Odisha

23 May 2019


Bhubaneswar: In Odisha, the victory of a number of candidates including first timers came as a surprise to many this election. Here is a list of some of those candidates in Lok Sabha and Assembly who managed to defeat stalwarts in the State.

1.     Anubhav Mohanty (BJD) – Defeated former Lok Sabha MP Baijayant Panda in Kendrapada Lok Sabha constituency


2.     Saroj Kumar Meher (BJD) – Defeated senior BJP leader KV Singhdeo in Patnagarh assembly segment


3.     Raghunandan Das (BJD) - Defeated veteran leader Damodar Rout (BJP) in Balikuda-Erasama assembly segment


4.     Jayanta Kumar Sarangi (BJP) – Defeated former Odisha minister Maheswar Mohanty (BJD) in Puri assembly segment

5.     Chandrani Murmu (BJD) – Defeated former Lok Sabha member Ananta Nayak in Keonjhar Lok Sabha constituency

6.     Lalitendu Bidyadhar Mohapatra (BJP) – Defeated two time (incumbent) MLA and former Minister Sanjay Dasburma (BJD) in Bramhagiri assembly segment

7.    Mohammed Moquim (Congress) - Defeated two-time (incumbent) MLA Debasis Samantray (BJD) in Cuttack-Barabati assembly segment