Three persons of Bomikhal, Bhubaneswar test positive for COVID-19

Preventive Power Cut In 8 Districts During Entire Cyclone Period, Says Odisha's Energy Secretary

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Bhubaneswar: As cyclone Fani approaches closer to Odisha coast, the Indian Meteorological Department (IMD) has predicted that the wind speed may reach more than 180 kilometres per hour which would cause heavy damage to energy infrastructure.

In order to combat the situation in the aftermath of the cyclone, Energy Secretary Hemant Sharma convened a high level meeting with senior officials of the distribution companies (DISCOMs) and Odisha Power Transmission Corporation Limited (OPTCL) today evening.

"When wind speed crosses 50 kmph the power lines are shut off to ensure safety of the consumers and the infrastructure. The power lines will be operational two to three hours after the cyclone passes. This will be done in phases, only after a proper inspection and restoration is conducted," Sharma said.

Ganjam, Khurda, Puri, Cuttack, Kendrapada, Jagatsinghpur, Bhadrak and Balasore will face a power outage during the cyclone period, the Energy Secretary said.

He reviewed the status of stock position and instructed to mobilize the materials available at central stocks to the affected districts. As the wind speed will be higher, it is presumed that the transmission towers may be affected hugely.

So the Energy department today mobilized ERS Towers (Emergency Restoration System Towers) to Puri district. Three Control rooms have been set up at Energy Department , CESU and OPTCL.

For quick reporting of the situation, a WAP Group has been created by the department. More than 500 gangs - 10 each have been deployed in NESCO, SOUTHCO and CESU districts.

The teams have been deployed at different section offices of the probable affected districts. Rajendra Senapati, Director (HRD), OPTCL will be coordinating with the three control rooms for effective reporting.

Your browser doesn't support HTML5 video.

Hemant Sharma, Energy Secretary, Odisha